polite request


Here some expressions that we can use to ask information and give politeness.

 

Excuse me:

We can use ‘excuse me’, as an opener of a sentence. The sentence can be in the form of command, request, or question. Examples:

1. Excuse me, can you tell me the way to the book store?

2. Excuse me, where is the market?

 

Please:

We can use ‘please’, as a closer of a sentence. The sentence can be in the form of command, request, or question. Examples:

1. Can I make a credit card, please?

2. Do the homework, please?

 

Pardon:

We can say ‘I beg your pardon’ or ‘pardon’ or ‘pardon me’ as a very polite way to ask someone to repeat what she/he just said because you did not hear or understand it. Example:

A: Our school will hold the examination in the end of this month.

B: Pardon?

A: Our school will hold the examination in the end of this month.

 

Titles:

There are different titles that you use to address different people, depending on their gender (male or female), age, and whether you know their names.

 

When talking to a man, you can use Sir or Mister (Mr) plus his last name.

 

When talking to a woman who is married or over 30 years old, use Ma’am or Mrs. plus her last name.

 

When talking to a woman who is unmarried or under 30, use Miss or Miss plus her last name.

 

Asking for information

There are a number of formulas used when asking for information in English. Here are some of the most common:

 

* Could you tell me…?

* Do you know…?

* Do you happen to know…?

* I’d like to know…

Leave a Reply

